30 Day Blog Challenge Day 16: What Makes You Different From Everyone Else?

I feel like this is a bit of a loaded question…lots of things make me different than everyone else. I do believe I have a lot of unique and different qualities than most people, and yeah, I think that’s a fantastic thing. I NEVER want to come across as typical, or average, or vapid…and the thought of being like that sickens me. I am my own person. And I’m proud of that.

I feel like I have a lot of qualities that people in today’s day in age seem to lack or have forgotten about. I have a lot of morals and values that are extremely important to me, and I will NOT change them, or ignore them for anyone. I do think that’s pretty rare. A lot of people seem to get so caught up in the materialistic items, and the bad influences, and negative things in this world…and it’s sad. People forget what’s truly important, hence the reason why the world is getting worse. A lot of people are willing to do anything just to have a little bit of fun or to fit in. And that’s sad to me. I stick to my morals, values, and beliefs; above anything else because they are what matter in my life, and they are what shape me into who I really am. And yeah, I do think that, that makes me different because, sadly, a lot of people seem to be lacking those qualities.

I feel like I’m also different than a lot or most girls. I feel like a lot of girls have this stereotypical stigma that they’re materialistic, guy obsessed, image obsessed, parting, who think they can use their feminine charm to get anything they want…and that’s not me. Take one look at me and yeah, you’ll see a girl with nice clothes, heels, makeup, and jewelry…but I am SO much more than that. And to be honest, I don’t care about material items at all. Yeah, they’re nice sometimes, but there’s so much more to life than just shopping, getting your nails done, and gossiping and talking badly about people. I think a lot of people who don’t really know me well would be surprised to know that about me, because I do admit, by first impression I look like just another vapid white girl…nice clothes, makeup, hair done, and an iPhone. How much more vapid could you get, right?? Wrong. Because those things don’t define me. At all. I’d give them all up in a heartbeat. I’d so much rather go hiking, or take a walk in beautiful weather than spend all day shopping at the mall. I’d rather spend the day in, having a meaningful  or intellectual conversation than spending the day at the spa getting my nails or hair done. I’d rather spend my nights with just one good friend, or two than drinking and partying. I’d rather enrich myself in culture and something worthwhile than have frivolous, trash talking conversation ANY DAY.

I feel like there is a lot more to me than meets the eye. And l love that. I love that I’m not afraid to be my complete self and that I’m not afraid to let my morals and values be seen. I love that I don’t care what anyone else thinks and that I just do what I feel is right. And I love that I’m not afraid to make a fool of myself and embarrass myself…yes, I’m extremely weird and I’m a huge dork. But I embrace that because life’s too short to be cool. 😉

Leave a Reply

