It’s not about what you can’t do, or who you aren’t; it’s about what you CAN do and who you ARE!

I’m happy with myself and I love who I am. I’ve been going through a tough time lately, stuck in a rut, sad, stressed, and having a bit of an identity crisis. I’m not gonna lie, I’m still in a rut, I’m still not happy with my current state of life, or mindset, and there’s still a bunch of thoughts that I need to sort out and figure out. But one thing I’m not is unhappy with myself. I’m still me. I’m still Jenn…at heart, I’m still the same person. And I damn proud of that person.

I know I’m a kind, genuine, smart, funny, giving, loving, refined, talented, and accepting person. And I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being able to admit that. Yes, I’m humble..I don’t walk around with my nose in the air, bragging about these things. I may even be surprised if I were to get a compliment on these things. But I am proud of these things, and I recognize these are some of the best traits about myself. I’ll sacrifice myself or something in my life just to help someone because I want to. I genuinely care about other people, sometimes more than I should. I’m a damn good friend and will literally do anything for those closest to me. I have my head on straight…I have high morals and values and I stick to them and stay true to myself. I have big goals and dreams, and I’m trying my best to help myself achieve those goals. I have a great sense of humor and, yeah, I think I’m funny. I’m different, and weird and I think that’s a GREAT thing. I’d never judge another person because I know how it feels and I wouldn’t wish it upon anyone. I’m a writer, graphic designer, and I have a love for all things creative. I’m also pretty damn good with computers and techy/geeky stuff. And you know what? Yes, I love these things about myself and I’ll hold my head high and wear a smile on my face, even if I’m having the crappiest of days because I love and respect myself and I want the world to know that.

I will NEVER let anyone else, or anything else take away my self confidence. I will never let anything negatively influence me. I trust myself enough to know when I’m right and when I’m wrong, and if I know in my heart I’m right, I will stand up for myself because I owe it to myself. Will I still be kind and respectful? Absolutely. Always. But I’m not a doormat, either. And if I know I’m wrong? Then I’ll be the first to admit it, and apologize to anyone I’ve hurt. I’ve always known all this stuff about myself, but it took me awhile to be able to openly say “hey, this is me, this is who I am, and this is what makes me awesome.” I was always scared of coming across as arrogant, or stuck up…but there’s absolutely nothing wrong with recognizing what makes you awesome, and different from the world and being proud of that.You should be proud of who you are and find at least something to love about yourself. My confidence never left me like I thought it did…I simply just forgot what makes me awesome, and what makes me Jenn. I love myself and no one or nothing could ever change that. You should love yourself, too. There’s always something to love about yourself and be proud of. So find it, and then embrace it.

2 thoughts on “It’s not about what you can’t do, or who you aren’t; it’s about what you CAN do and who you ARE!

Leave a Reply

