Maybe it’s not such a bad thing after all…

I have been unemployed for about two and a half years now. My first and only job was when I was living in New York for the summer of 2010 when I worked as a file clerk in a pediatric’s office that my aunt managed; I’ve known the owners/doctors that run it since I was very young. Anyway, since then, finding employment and an income has been quite the struggle to say the least. I’ve filled out hundreds of applications, handed out tons of resumes, had interviews, and managers who’ve promised to call me back, but instead of being a professional and mature adult and telling me that I didn’t get the job, they play phone-tag with me and avoid me. Needless to say, it’s pretty damn annoying and discouraging. I mean, I’m almost 22 years old. I’m ready to be independent and start doing things on my own, and supporting myself. I’m sick of relying on my parents for everything. It makes me feel unaccomplished and yeah, it makes me feel a little like a loser.

I’ve been thinking recently, though. I’m in my last semester at the community college before I finally earn my AA degree, which that itself has been it’s own uphill battle (thanks, Intermediate Algebra). But I’m finally there. I’m graduating in May, and I’ll finally have that Associates Degree in my hands. Granted, I’m most definitely continuing my education afterwards and I plan on getting my BA, but for the time being, having the AA might actually help me in my job hunt. Now I know an Associate’s Degree isn’t the most prestigious degree, but it’s something. And hell, I worked DAMN hard for this degree. And I might be able to get a better, more well paying higher up job with an AA. Maybe it’s a good thing I haven’t found a job yet. Maybe there’s more for me out there. Maybe I’m not meant to be a hostess or server at a restaurant, or work in a fast food place…maybe now I have a window of opportunity to earn a better job. I could work as a bank teller, an assistant, office manager, etc. Now those aren’t the most exciting jobs, and I wouldn’t make a career out of it…but it’s something. It’s something to earn experience, and save money while I’m working on my BA, and make a name for myself so I can start supporting myself and start my own life.

I think I may just focus on my schooling for the next two and a half months, study hard so I can pass my final math class, and finally earn my AA degree. After that, when I add having an Associate’s Degree to my resume, I think it could really be beneficial to my job hunt. I’ve always been a firm believer that everything happens for a reason, and there’s a plan for everyone. You can’t fight that, and it’ll happen the way it’s meant to happen. Sometimes our original plans don’t work out the way we’d like. But thank God for that. There’s something better waiting down the road for us eventually. And you just have to have faith that it’ll happen eventually…the way it’s supposed to. Who knows, maybe not having a job right now is a blessing in disguise There’s something better waiting for me and I just have to wait a little. Maybe if I had a job all these years, I wouldn’t be so focused on school…maybe I wouldn’t be so close to my degree…maybe I would have given up on school all together. Everything does work out eventually, and I’m confident that I will find a job soon. But school needs to be my first priority. :))

One thought on “Maybe it’s not such a bad thing after all…

Leave a Reply

