Do not live for the expectations of people around you; live for yourself, for your dreams, and for your happiness.

Today was my dad’s 50th birthday, so I gave him a call this afternoon to wish him a happy birthday like I do every year. We started talking about life and how I’m doing and the subject of school came up, as it always does and he started asking me about my plans after I get my AA and transfer after this semester. I told him the same thing I always tell him; that I want to major in mass communications. He then proceeded to ask me what I want to do with that degree…or what I could do with that degree. I told him that I wasn’t sure yet, but there was a lot I could do with it. I mentioned something in the media, journalism, film industry…something along those lines. Now by this point, I already expected what was coming next because he always mentions this whenever we talk about my schooling or career choice. He told me, “you know, I just don’t feel like that’s a very practical choice. Have you considered doing something else? Those fields are extremely hard to get into and chances are, you’re going to have a useless degree that you can’t do anything with. I still really think you should consider the medical industry. You’d be so good at it because you could relate to the patents. Or a teacher. You’re so good with kids!” Now excuse me while I breakdown everything that’s wrong with that statement;

  1. Mass communications is a very practical degree…there are SO many possible fields and career options for a mass communications degree.
  2. I really doubt that I’m going to end up without a good job because my degree is “pointless.” I’m smarter than that…give me some credit, here.
  3. I will never, ever, ever, EVER do anyyyything in the medical industry. I basically grew up in doctor’s offices and hospitals. I can’t stand them. The smell, and overall feeling of being in one makes my stomach turn in the most horrific way. If I had to work in one every day, I’d be extremely depressed. Yes, I’d LOVE to help people, but I want to do that in my own way…a different way. I can still help people, and make an impact in people’s lives without anything related to medical. 
  4. I’m AWFUL at math…seriously AWFUL. I’m pretty sure I’m mentally incapable of learning it, and I’m determined to prove that there’s an actual mental illness that makes it impossible to learn anything mathematical. hah. My point, though, in order to work in the medical field, you need to know a lot of math, and ten years of schooling with basically nothing but math and science sounds like a living hell…I don’t think I’d ever graduate. haha.

My point is this, I absolutely can’t stand when people tell me what I should do with my future. It’s my future, and my life, and I’ll do what I want with it. I have every right to follow my dreams and pursue my goals. Maybe I wont be some big-time magazine editor. Maybe I won’t write for a major newspaper/magazine. Maybe I wont be some famous producer, or a famous reporter. Maybe my work won’t reach a global or national audience, whatever it is I end up doing. But you know what, maybe I will! I’ll never know if I don’t at least try. And if I don’t, that’s okay, too. As long as I’m doing something that I have fun with, and love, and truly enjoy…that’s all that matters. I just want to be happy, and the only way for that to happen is to listen to myself and follow my dreams, and my goals…not what someone wants me to do, or tells me what they think I should do. You can’t live your life trying to please others, or listen to their view on what they think your life should be. It’s not their life to live; it’s yours, so live it the way you want to live it. Screw what other people say or think…even if those people are your family. You have every right to live your own life and you shouldn’t let anyone hold you back from whatever makes you happiest.

Leave a Reply

