Let’s Get Personal…Kind of.

I always end up typing out these long, personal posts; leave them up for a day or so; and then end up privating them. I’m not sure why, really. I’m not a super open person when it comes to a lot of things in my life. I keep a lot to myself, and it’s hard for me to open up to most people in my life, or share what I’m thinking. So maybe I just feel like by posting these personal posts that maybe I’ve shared too much. I have about six private posts, excluding class assignments on this blog. And while I do feel that I have a lot to say, and a lot to share, somethings I just feel uncomfortable with sharing after I’ve already posted it, so I simply set it to private. I don’t think there’s anything necessarily wrong with keeping certain things to myself, or being a fairly private person, but I can still say what I need to say, and share what I want to share without being too personal. Especially with what I want to do as my career…work in something involving the media, creative expression, etc. I need to learn to get over the uneasiness I get at people reading, or viewing my work. I need to feel more comfortable and willing to show my work to the world. It’s not that I’m ashamed, or embarrassed with anything…I know that I’m decently talented at what I can do. I don’t know. It just makes me uncomfortable sharing my work, or my talents, and I really don’t know why. I think in order to do that, though, I have to be more willing to share myself, my thoughts, and my story, so I can express that through my work and not feel awkward or uncomfortable knowing it’s going to be shared with the world. I honestly don’t know if this made any sense…it’s late and I can’t sleep. Typical, Jenn…haha. Anyway, I’m going to try to keep my posts public from here on out. After all, this is my blog and I made it to share my thoughts, my life, and my story. And that’s what I plan to do. Baby steps.

-Jenn.

Leave a Reply

