What Does it Mean to be Confident?

You’ve heard it a million times; confidence is key…be confident in yourself…you must have confidence, etc. But just what is this confidence everyone speaks of? What does it even mean to be confident, and why do so many people struggle with it? I, myself, have struggled with confidence for years…but the problem wasn’t that I was lacking the confidence…it was that I simply didn’t understand what it truly meant to be confident. And that’s the problem. That’s why so many people struggle. People seem to mistake confidence, narcissism, and perfection…and fact of the matter is that they’re all completely different  To be confident does not mean that you must think you’re perfect…to be confident does not mean that you must be egocentric…and to be confident does NOT, by any means, mean that you don’t have insecurities. To be confident simply means that you love, respect, and accept yourself for who you truly are, despite your flaws and insecurities.

I have plenty of insecurities, I’m only human…but that doesn’t mean I’m not a confident person. EVERY PERSON ON THIS EARTH HAS INSECURITIES. Even the most confident person. There is not one single person on this planet that doesn’t have at least one thing that they don’t like about themselves…that they wish they could change. It’s part of being human. Newsflash, no one is perfect, and thank God for that because how boring would that be?! Despite my many insecurities, I am very confident. I love myself, and I’m proud of the person I am. My insecurities don’t define me. Just because I may not like my something about appearance, doesn’t mean anything. It says nothing about who I am as a person, and I KNOW I’m a good person. No, I don’t love everything about my appearance, but would I change anything about it? Absolutely not! Never! Why result to plastic surgery to change something so irrelevant like appearance? It’s so…well…plastic. It’s fake. There’s no substance. And in the end, it’s really not going to make you any happier. It’s just going to make things worse. You’re not fixing the problem…in order to fix the REAL problem, you have to fix your mindset. The problem isn’t your appearance…it’s your mindset. You have to rewire your brain, and learn to love and accept yourself the way God made you. That’s where you’ll find true happiness. Your appearance has nothing to do with you…it’s really just a shell. Nothing more. Your spirit  your soul, and who you are as a person…that’s what counts. After all, it’s what’s on the inside that counts, right? (cliche, but true!) I love the person I am, and I hold my head high, and with pride because of that. I accept myself despite of everything. Why dwell on what I can’t change, and why worry what someone else thinks? It makes no sense. They aren’t me, so why should the way I look or act effect them in any way, shape, or form? If they can’t accept me for the way I am, why would I want them in my life anyway? Why should I waste my time trying to please someone who doesn’t like the real me, and probably never will like the real me? There’s plenty of people out there who WILL like the real you, and they are what matter…not the people who don’t. Start living for yourself…not to get other people’s approval. There’s ALWAYS going to be someone who doesn’t like you…you can’t please everyone and that’s just how the world works. But once you accept that, it’s so much more freeing and everything gets better…I guarantee it. We’re all made the way we are for a reason, so embrace it!

My insecurities go past my appearance, though. Like the way I over-think everything, and they way I’m SO hard on myself. I never give myself enough credit. Or the way I sometimes feel like I’m not good enough for certain people, which goes back to the over thinking…over thinking RUINS me. Things could be going great, but then I get to thinking that they’re almost too good, so I’ll create problems in my head and start thinking “okay, this can’t be real…something has to be up!”, and then I’ll over think, and freak myself out, and end up driving myself crazy, and that is NOT okay, and  I won’t accept that about myself. But does that mean I’m not confident? Absolutely not! Being confident also means that you recognize your flaws as a person, and taking the initiative, and the power to MAKE those changes that you need to make. It’s not a physical change…you have the power to change yourself for the better, and make yourself the absolute best person you can be. That’s what I plan to do….that’s what I AM doing.

OF COURSE I have insecurities, OF COURSE there’s things I don’t like about myself, and OF COURSE there’s things I need to work on and change…hello, I’m only human. NO ONE is perfect…EVERYONE has flaws, and that’s how it’s always going to be. But that does NOT mean for one second that I’m not confident, or that I don’t love myself. Confidence is about loving and accepting yourself despite those flaws, and that’s exactly what I’m doing. Everyone has insecurities, even the most confident person. I do love myself, and I accept myself despite my insecurities. I recognize what I CAN’T change, and what I CAN change, and I never once let it control my life. THAT’S what confidence is. It’s about love, acceptance, and the will to make yourself the best person you can be!

-Jenn.

5 thoughts on “What Does it Mean to be Confident?

  1. Pingback: Featured – ThatGirlJenn | Michelles Corner

Leave a Reply

